Money Saving Tips 101: Want cheap gym membership with no lengthy contracts? Read on to find out!

Hi. Everyone, Mr. Minion here.

Today’s money saving tip is on how to get a cheap gym membership.

About 8 months back I started looking for a gym. I wanted to be healthier and make sure I build a strong foundation on my journey to early retirement.

After endless research and phone calls, I came to one conclusion – gyms are not cheap. If you want them to be cheap then you got to sign a lengthy contract with them. I won’t be listing down the prices of all the gyms here – that’s not the point of this post. I can tell you on average that gym memberships cost about $100 and up – and that’s with the year-long contracts and such.

So how can you get affordable gym memberships that will allow you to work out during your lunch hour? Here’s how.

YOU BUY INSURANCE

Now you’ll be wondering what the heck I’m talking about. How does buying insurance get you a cheap gym membership? Don’t I have to pay even more because I am taking up a new insurance plan?

Of course not. You’ll be saving money – trust me.

So here’s how it works.

  1. Do you have any AIA insurance policies? If so – go straight to step 2. If not, go sign up for AIA accidental insurance plan – go for the cheapest one. It doesn’t matter whether if you have any other existing accidental insurance plans.
  2. You join their AIA Vitality program
  3. Once you are a member – sign up for the “True Fitness” membership on their website.

Here’s a rough calculation on the amount that you will spend per month using my method.

  • Cheapest insurance plan with AIA ~ $15 (think it’s cheaper, but can’t remember)
  • Gym membership after discount for AIA Vitality members is ~$72
  • AIA Vitality membership is ~$5

Total Cost: ~$93

You must remember that this is without a yearly contract – which means you can just cancel the gym membership when needed.

Good deal right?

Do note that I am not given any incentives for recommending True Fitness or AIA Insurance policies – it’s just that that in order to utilize this method you’ll have to go through these 2 companies. It’s as simple as that.

That’s all we have for today. Remember to subscribe if you felt that our posts are helpful or interesting.

Till next time then.

Leave a comment